TeeChart 7 Source Code Installation

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
matjazu

TeeChart 7 Source Code Installation

Post by matjazu » Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:40 am

Hi, I would appreciate if you can clarify a few things about TeeChart installations. I'm a Teechart Pro user (including source code).
Questions:
- what is the recommended installation: install both binary package and source package ? What should be installed first? Where to install source code.
- if I recompile source code, I get duplicated BPL libraries, should precompiled be deleted
- is it enough just to install source code and recompile packages
- what happens if I have several Delphi installations on same computer (Delphi 7, Delphi 2006, Delphi 2007). Should every binary package be installed in separate folder. Is it enough to install one source package and then recompile for every Delphi version.

Thanks for help.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Narcís » Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:48 pm

Hi matjazu,

Please find below the answers to your questions.
- what is the recommended installation: install both binary package and source package ? What should be installed first? Where to install source code.
We recommend to install both. First install the binary installer to obtain the examples and documentation included in it and then install the source code. It doesn't matter where you install the source code, this may depend on where you like 3rd party components files located. Anyway, it's also fine using default installation path.
- if I recompile source code, I get duplicated BPL libraries, should precompiled be deleted
This shouldn't be a problem provided that your Delphi points to the newly compiled files on TOP of its search path list at Project -> Options -> Directories/Conditionals.
- is it enough just to install source code and recompile packages