Page 1 of 1

X Axis values overwrite

Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:41 pm
by 10546565
On my development computer, I am using 2011.03.30407 and the footer to a chart appears fine:

Image

but on the build server, I have 2011.04.41118 installed and the footer values overwrite each other:

Image

It's the exact same code, just different version of TChart.

Is there a fix for this?

Ed Dressel

Re: X Axis values overwrite

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:46 am
by yeray
Hi Ed,

I've been testing this and found that the axis labels behaviour has changed several times in v2010-2011 when you have two series with labels.
There are two problems that seem to be related because in the releases where the first problem is reproducible, the second isn't. And viceversa.

Code: Select all

//Problem #1
uses Series;

procedure TForm1.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
var i: Integer;
begin
  Chart1.View3D:=false;

  Chart1.AddSeries(TFastLineSeries);
  Chart1.AddSeries(TFastLineSeries);

  for i:=0 to 49 do
  begin
    Chart1[0].AddXY(i, random, IntToStr(Chart1[0].Count));
    if i mod 5 = 0 then
    begin
      Chart1[1].AddXY(i+0.2, random, IntToStr(Chart1[1].Count));
    end;
  end;
end;

Code: Select all

//Problem #2
uses Series;

procedure TForm1.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
begin
  Chart1.View3D:=false;

  Chart1.AddSeries(TFastLineSeries);
  Chart1.AddSeries(TFastLineSeries);

  Chart1[0].AddXY(1, 2, 'test1');
  Chart1[0].AddXY(2, 3, 'test2');
  Chart1[1].AddXY(0, 2, 'test0');
  Chart1[1].AddXY(1, 3, 'test3');
end;
I've added it to the defect list to be revised asap (TV52016009).

Re: X Axis values overwrite

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:29 pm
by 10546565
Thanks for the response.

This seems pretty significant to me. I have access to the source. Does Steema provide hot fixes/patches for the source?

Thank you,
Ed Dressel

Re: X Axis values overwrite

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:21 pm
by yeray
Hi Ed,

You could comment a for loop in the Procedure AxisLabelsSeries; nested in the Procedure TChartAxis.Draw(CalcPosAxis:Boolean);

Code: Select all

for s:=0 to ISeriesList.Count-1 do
This will make the Problem #1 to be solved, but note the problem #2 will then appear again.

Re: X Axis values overwrite

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:06 pm
by 10546565
Does Steema provide hotfixes for bugs?

Re: X Axis values overwrite

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:34 am
by yeray
Hi Ed,

Usually not. Only if we find a bug is enough critical to justify it we can prepare new installers.
But being source code customer, the explanation of the modification above should be enough, isn't it? We can also send the affected files if the customer interested has the sources.

Re: X Axis values overwrite

Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:35 pm
by 10546565
Yeray wrote:Usually not. Only if we find a bug is enough critical to justify it we can prepare new installers.
How does a bug, such as this, rank where the X axis is non-readable?
Yeray wrote:But being source code customer, the explanation of the modification above should be enough, isn't it? We can also send the affected files if the customer interested has the sources.
For me to modify your source would mean I would have to get an understanding of your source--I really don't have time for that. I would much prefer showing me which unit(s) and method(s) need to be modified and how.

Re: X Axis values overwrite

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:07 am
by yeray
Hi Ed,
TestAlways wrote:How does a bug, such as this, rank where the X axis is non-readable?
I've added it as "Serious" so its priority in quite high in the list but the time until we can fix it also depends on other variables such as the complexity of the problem, the study of the possible collateral damages, the number of issues with even higher priority that claims our team attention,...

I recommend you to be aware at this forum, our RSS news feed, twitter and facebook accounts for new release announcements and what's implemented on them.
TestAlways wrote:For me to modify your source would mean I would have to get an understanding of your source--I really don't have time for that. I would much prefer showing me which unit(s) and method(s) need to be modified and how.
Excuse me if my previous reply wasn't detailed enough.
In the TeEngine.pas shipped with the v2011.04, the line to comment/remove is the line number 5450 that should be a for entry:

Code: Select all

for s:=0 to ISeriesList.Count-1 do