Couldn't Find ItemIndex, errors

TeeChart FireMonkey (Windows,OSX,iOS & Android) for Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder (XE5+)
Post Reply
Valgardur
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2021 12:00 am

Couldn't Find ItemIndex, errors

Post by Valgardur » Mon Jan 23, 2023 11:21 am

Trying a fairly simple chart using TDBChart, I constantly get "Couldn't find ItemIndex" error message. This does seem to relate to BindingsList, LinkGridToDataSource... I tried to create the connection both manually and with TDBChart's BindVisually.

Is there a demo available with TDBChart that retrieves data (perhaps date / value) from a database (Oracle / MSSQL Server)?

Working with complex DB linked chart's in VCL works fine.

The data displays correctly in a grid when not linked to TDBChart.

I can only find Demos using TChart, not TDBChart.

Using TChart adding the data from the dataset in a loop also works fine.

PS. Working with TDBChart is does create a lot of errors, crash, and strange error messages.
If I create a series, delete and try to create again I get an error message that it already exists.
I repeatedly restarted and cleaned my project, but it seems a lot of junk is left.
Deleting a TDBChart frequently causes Access Violation in Delphi.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9504
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Couldn't Find ItemIndex, errors

Post by Yeray » Thu Jan 26, 2023 7:21 am

Hello,

Are you in RAD 11.2 Alexandria? Just to make sure I do the tests with the same environment.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Valgardur
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2021 12:00 am

Re: Couldn't Find ItemIndex, errors

Post by Valgardur » Thu Jan 26, 2023 12:36 pm

Thanks, yes.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9504
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Couldn't Find ItemIndex, errors

Post by Yeray » Thu Feb 02, 2023 2:15 pm

Hello,

Sorry for the delay here.
The example here seems to work fine for me here. Could you please give it a try?
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Valgardur
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2021 12:00 am

Re: Couldn't Find ItemIndex, errors

Post by Valgardur » Tue Feb 07, 2023 2:28 pm

Thank you for your reply.

I already checked those examples and they do work, but I have a different data.

In the examples some coding is necessary

I would have expected to be possible to do all the linking / binding in design interface. I have dozens of grids that we need to port, it does not look promising if I have to programmatically link the data.

PS. This error message is not very helpful and suggests that this is perhaps not ready.

Post Reply