IDrawLineTool.FromPoint or IDrawLine.StartPos?

TeeChart for ActiveX, COM and ASP
Post Reply
nefis
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 4:00 am
Location: chicago

IDrawLineTool.FromPoint or IDrawLine.StartPos?

Post by nefis » Wed Mar 17, 2004 7:19 am

Hello,

what the difference between the properties?
IDrawLine.StartPos (EndPos) set start\end points of corrsponding line.
but what the purpose of IDrawLineTool.FromPoint (ToPoint) properties?

nefis

Pep
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3278
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by Pep » Thu Mar 18, 2004 9:59 am

Hi nefis,

as you can see in the Help, it says :

IDrawLine
Description
DrawLine is the Line component used by the DrawLineTool to draw custom lines on the Chart.
----------------------------------------
You can use the Canvas drawing to do exactly the same. Or
uou can also use the DrawLineTool to draw lines programatically.

nefis
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 4:00 am
Location: chicago

Post by nefis » Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:43 pm

but you didn't answer on my question
what the difference between IDrawLineTool.FromPoint (ToPoint) and IDrawLine.StartPos (EndPos) properties?
Actually, I understand what is IDrawLine.StartPos (EndPos) for.
what the purpose of IDrawLineTool.FromPoint (ToPoint) properties?

Christopher
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Riudellots de la Selva, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Christopher » Thu Mar 18, 2004 2:19 pm

Hi Nefis,
but you didn't answer on my question
what the difference between IDrawLineTool.FromPoint (ToPoint) and IDrawLine.StartPos (EndPos) properties?
Actually, I understand what is IDrawLine.StartPos (EndPos) for.
what the purpose of IDrawLineTool.FromPoint (ToPoint) properties?
Actually, we would prefer it if people didn't shout in these forums :) !

Why don't you have a look at the example of these properties in use that can be seen in the AXv6 Feature Demo under:
Welcome! -> Previous version -> New Chart Tools -> Draw Line
Thank you!

Christopher Ireland (Steema crew)
Please be aware of the newsgroup archives:
http://www.teechart.net/support/search.php
http://groups.google.com
http://codenewsfast.com/

nefis
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 4:00 am
Location: chicago

Post by nefis » Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:02 pm

Is that Steema's way to treat customers? Blaming them with "souting" instead of mere answering a quistion?
Have you ever read user's postings?
I've asked a simple question
what the purpose of IDrawLineTool.FromPoint (ToPoint) properties?
to your information there is none (nada) examples on IDrawLineTool.FromPoint (ToPoint) properties. Help is no help too

Christopher
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Riudellots de la Selva, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Christopher » Fri Mar 19, 2004 9:52 am

Hi Nefis,

Please find following a VB example of IDrawLineTool.FromPoint and IDrawLineTool.ToPoint

Code: Select all

Private Sub Command1_Click()
With TChart1
    If .Tools.Items(0).asDrawLine.Selected <> -1 Then
        Label1.Caption = "FromPoint (" & .Tools.Items(0).asDrawLine.FromPoint.X & " , " _
        & .Tools.Items(0).asDrawLine.FromPoint.Y & ")" & "  ToPoint (" & .Tools.Items(0).asDrawLine.ToPoint.X & " , " _
        & .Tools.Items(0).asDrawLine.ToPoint.Y & ")"
    End If
End With
End Sub

Private Sub Form_Load()
With TChart1
    .AddSeries scLine
    .Series(0).FillSampleValues 20
    .Axis.Left.SetMinMax 200, 800
    .Tools.Add tcDrawLine
    .Tools.Items(0).asDrawLine.Series = .Series(0)
    .Tools.Items(0).asDrawLine.AddLine 3, 300, 5, 600
End With
End Sub
These properties are read-only properties which read the StartPos and EndPos of the selected line. The Help file will be updated to reflect this functionality.
Thank you!

Christopher Ireland (Steema crew)
Please be aware of the newsgroup archives:
http://www.teechart.net/support/search.php
http://groups.google.com
http://codenewsfast.com/

nefis
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 4:00 am
Location: chicago

Post by nefis » Fri Mar 19, 2004 4:00 pm

Hi Christopher,

thanks for the answer.
actually, saying that the properties returns end points of currently selected line would do it just fine.

nefis

Post Reply