ActiveX Chart Load URL

TeeChart for ActiveX, COM and ASP
Post Reply
David
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 5:00 am
Location: Texas

ActiveX Chart Load URL

Post by David » Mon Feb 23, 2004 8:27 pm

I'm trying to figure out how to build in ASP.Net a URL on the client-page to access an ActiveX v.5 TeeChart that is indendent of the server it is loaded on, i.e. the server name from which the page is called is automatically placed in the URL on the client-page. Any ideas?

Christopher
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Riudellots de la Selva, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Christopher » Mon Mar 01, 2004 2:48 pm

Hi David,
I'm trying to figure out how to build in ASP.Net a URL on the client-page to access an ActiveX v.5 TeeChart that is indendent of the server it is loaded on, i.e. the server name from which the page is called is automatically placed in the URL on the client-page. Any ideas?
Apologies for the delay in reply.

Are you using a teeChart object clientside or are you simply sending a bitmap to the browser?

If you have an object clientside you can use the technique outlined in "Tutorial 9 - Internet Applications -> Streaming Charts directly to the browser".

If you are streaming a bitmap to the browser then you can use the techniques outlined in all the ASP examples accessible on http://localhost/TeeChart6/ASPHome.htm (if installed at installation) or C:\Program Files\Steema Software\TeeChart Pro v6 ActiveX Control\Examples\IIS & Asp (if not installed at installation).
Thank you!

Christopher Ireland (Steema crew)
Please be aware of the newsgroup archives:
http://www.teechart.net/support/search.php
http://groups.google.com
http://codenewsfast.com/

David
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 5:00 am
Location: Texas

ActiveXv5 Import from URL

Post by David » Tue Mar 16, 2004 4:46 pm

I figured out how to make the addressing independent, sort of. I cop the web page URL and chop off the end and replace it with the appropriate WebformN.aspx. However it doesn't work when the server is accessed by the DNS entry name, only when it is accessed by the computer name. Here's the call :

TChart1.Import.LoadFromURL(servername + "WebForm2.aspx")

When it is called with servername = w14700 (computer name), everything works. When it is called with servername = ops_support, it does not work. At first, I got an error before I realized I needed to register the DNS entry in IIS. Now, I no longer get an error, but I also don't get an updated chart either.

Post Reply